About that pear tarte tatin…

It was amazing. It was not perfect (the caramel sauce soaked through parts of the pastry), but it was amazing. I used frozen puff pastry and red pears. I used the amount of cinnamon specified and threw in an equal amount of ground ginger. We had to stop ourselves from finishing the whole tart tonight. Breakfast tomorrow!

And now a short rant. I read the reviews for this, and something came up that I’ve seen before in reviews and really don’t get: People who don’t own a cast-iron skillet. This recipe and many others really need to be made in cast iron. In the case of this recipe, you won’t get the right caramelization from non-stick, and it’s not safe to use a non-stick pan in the oven.

There’s no excuse not to own a cast-iron skillet. The skillet I used to prepare this tart is available at Target for $15.99. A smaller version is $10.99. They’re preseasoned, you can use them to cook almost everything, and they last forever. What are you waiting for, crazy Epicurious reviewers?

Comments
2 Responses to “About that pear tarte tatin…”
  1. vho says:

    Oh, Katy, I was that person for so long. The shame of it. Finally I bought one at the hardware store for maybe $15 and I use it pretty regularly.

    On the other hand, I never wrote a review talking about how I didn’t have a cast iron skillet. That’s like writing a whole review about how you didn’t have a whisk and had to use a fork instead. Or didn’t have mixing bowls so you swapped in a souffle dish.

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] cooking week. I got off to a great start—chicken pot pie, two kinds of cookies, the big snowed in meal, pasta alla norma—and then I got sick on Monday night. The kind of sick where I ate mostly […]



Leave a Reply

