“You need to get a new banana bread recipe!”

That’s how Jay greeted me, without saying hello, as I walked in from yoga this afternoon. Before I left, I had mixed up a batch of Joanne Chang’s banana bread from Flour and left Jay in charge of testing it and taking it out of the oven.

The recipe had rave reviews, so you can imagine my surprise at hearing it had been a disaster. Jay claimed that after an hour and 20 minutes in the oven, it still wasn’t cooked through in spite of a thick crust on the outside. We conducted a joint inspection of the banana bread, now lying partially dismantled on the kitchen counter.

“See?” said Jay, pointing at a spot in the loaf. “It’s not cooked!”

“I think that’s a piece of banana,” I said, squinting. “Let me cut a piece and check.” I cut a piece, and Jay grabbed half. I held it up to the light. Banana.

So I guess we’ll be having banana bread for the next few days, and there’s no need to find a new recipe.

Comments
3 Responses to ““You need to get a new banana bread recipe!””
  1. vho says:

    Ha! I love the urgency of the (potentially) failed banana bread recipe.

    How are you liking the Flour cookbook? I’ve been meaning to get it for ages.

    • Katy says:

      That’s Jay. Never any time for hello!

      I don’t actually have the cookbook either, although I’ve been meaning to buy it too. I found the recipe on the Food Network site while searching for banana bread recipes. It’s very good and is still moist and not burned (just nicely caramelized) after all that time in the oven. I only had two really disgusting black bananas, so I had to use one and a half really ripe but not black bananas to round out the recipe. I’ll set aside more bananas next time to blacken and see what happens with the flavor.

  2. Jay says:

    You know, I got a bad rap here. It looked not completely cooked to me, but then again I am not a baker, my best cooking is done on a grill in the back yard……

    Bah, baking.

Leave a Reply

